There’s no real question with honey. Honey is vegetarian, but not vegan.
Vegetarian = does not eat animals, vegan = does not eat animal products.
Comment on A long and distinguished family
criminalunicorn@feddit.uk 1 year agoAnimal carcasses are not vegetarian…
There’s no real question with honey. Honey is vegetarian, but not vegan.
Vegetarian = does not eat animals, vegan = does not eat animal products.
Viking_Hippie@lemmy.world 1 year ago
That would explicitly NOT include gelatin, which is made from the hooves and the like of animals already slaughtered for the parts people eat. Literally no one is slaughtering animals to make gelatin.
Strawberry@lemmy.blahaj.zone 1 year ago
It would also decidedly not include pork tenderloin, which is made from the tenderloin of animals already slaughtered
Viking_Hippie@lemmy.world 1 year ago
Now you’re just being wilfully obtuse.
Zekas@lemmy.world 1 year ago
Mate. The animal has to die for the product to get made. There’s such a thing as avoiding waste: You wouldn’t slaughter an entire horse and just use the hooves, nor would you chop a chicken for just the wings. You use as much as you can. Stuff like gelatin usually has multiple source animals precisely because it’s made of what used to be wasted. There isn’t a way to extract these things without causing serious injury or death to the animal, ergo it is very much not vegetarian.